Informational Picketing Sends Powerful Message to Secretary Azar

We were loud, we were strong, and we were united.

NTEU member picketing in front of the HHS building in Washington, D.C.Yesterday, HHS employees in Washington, D.C., walked the picket line, and in powerful voices, told Secretary Azar, “Shame on HHS!”

This was a significant day for HHS employees around the country. We demonstrated to management that employees are ready and willing to fight for our contract—and we’re in it for the long haul.

picketing2Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC) and National President Tony Reardon joined the crowd, along with other nearby NTEU members.

Management not only heard a loud chorus of employees chanting for HHS to negotiate, but the steady sound of cars honking in support of federal employee rights.

picketing3“The dedicated employees at HHS provide some of the most essential services to the American people and deserve the right to bargain for a fair contract,” Norton said. “HHS leadership must end this self-imposed impasse and come to the negotiating table with HHS employees and their union.”

President Reardon told employees, “The confrontation with HHS has escalated because management repeatedly refuses to engage and listen to their employees.”

picketing4As a reminder to management that we will not be ignored, Reardon asked the crowd to turn around, face HHS headquarters and chant, “Shame!”

Informational picketing is over, but the fight continues. Get involved.

Engaging the Public

Ahead of informational picketing, NTEU invited the media to cover the event. Our message: HHS is in danger of losing its ability to recruit and retain the highly-skilled workforce it needs to protect the public health.

Word got out and the informational picketing was covered in several media outlets including GovExec, Roll Call, and Federal News Network.

Author: chapterpresident

I have worked in the FDA since 1990 in a variety of positions. I currently serve as chapter president of NTEU Chapter 254, representing FDA employees in Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah.