Day of Action Tomorrow


People dressed in blackThe fight to protect the rights you have in your NTEU contract continues. Next up are ‘Wear Black Wednesdays,’ when you can show management your unhappiness, if not outright anger, with HHS’ proposal to discard your contract benefits and rights, like AWS and telework. Participation is easy:

  1. Wear black clothing tomorrow, and every Wednesday that follows until HHS agrees to properly bargain with NTEU.
  2. Tweet directly to Secretary Azar @SecAzar and use the hashtag #SHAMEonHHS.

Here are some sample tweets, but feel free to write your own:

@SecAzar the people who provide this nation with comprehensive health services deserve a workplace that respects them #SHAMEonHHS

@SecAzar – why do you want to take away AWS, telework and transit subsidies from your own employees? #SHAMEonHHS

#SHAMEonHHS and @SecAzar for going after the rights of employees who ensure safe food, drugs and quality health care for Americans

Black polo with NTEU logoIt is critical that we show a united front in the face of HHS’ bargaining antics. HHS believes it can force a “contract” into place with no bargaining. You will lose popular programs with proven benefits and the right to challenge unfair decisions affecting you. This is simply wrong and we cannot let it stand.

Additional information, including fact sheets on the impact of the HHS proposals on telework, AWS, PMAP, and transit subsidies, is available at

NTEU. SHAME on HHS. #SHAMEonHHSHave you signed the petition yet? While NTEU National President Tony Reardon personally delivered 5,500 signatures to Secretary Azar’s office, we still want more HHS employees to sign.

Thank you for participating and standing up to HHS. Your work is vital to our country and you deserve to do it in a workplace where you are respected and your voice is heard.

Author: chapterpresident

I have worked in the FDA since 1990 in a variety of positions. I currently serve as chapter president of NTEU Chapter 254, representing FDA employees in Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah.