House Oversight Committee Considers Legislation Affecting Employee Due Process and Collective Bargaining Rights

Summary of legislation affecting employee due process and collective bargaining rights being considered by the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee.

A dark contrast photo of the US Capitol against cloudy gray skies.Tomorrow, the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform will hold a markup to consider several anti-employee and anti-union bills. Included on the Committee’s agenda are: H.R. 5300, introduced by Rep. Gary Palmer (AL-6), that would prohibit bargaining on adverse impacts on employees from agency IT decisions; a yet-to-be formally introduced bill to be sponsored by Rep. Jody Hice (GA-10) that makes major changes to the Merit Systems Protection Board’s (MSPB) appeal functions, including instituting a filing fee, allowing the MSPB to deny employees the right to a hearing, to prohibit the Board from mitigating agency personnel decisions, and to lower the evidentiary burden from preponderance to substantial evidence for all cases; and a revised H.R. 559, introduced by Rep. Barry Loudermilk (GA-11), that, among other items, would eliminate adverse actions under Chapter 43, amend Chapters 71 and Chapter 75 to expedite adverse actions, prohibit the use of grievance procedures for adverse actions, and extend probationary periods for a minimum of at least two years.

NTEU is strongly opposing all of these measures, and has sent the attached letter to Committee members in advance of tomorrow’s markup. I will update you regarding the Committee’s actions. I want to assure you that NTEU will continue its work with its allies in both the House and Senate to block these punitive and outright anti-labor bills from being enacted. For more information, please visit the NTEU Legislative Action Center.

Author: chapterpresident

I have worked in the FDA since 1990 in a variety of positions. I currently serve as chapter president of NTEU Chapter 254, representing FDA employees in Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah.