NTEU Files Information Request Regarding ORA Telework Practices

NTEU has filed an information request to determine whether ORA’s telework practices violate the parties’ MOU on Program Alignment and the CBA.

TeleworkingOn May 12, 2017, NTEU and ORA executed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) regarding program alignment. The MOU set forth the parties’ agreement regarding how program alignment would be implemented. One of the agreed upon provisions required the agency to promote and encourage telework by issuing quarterly communications to ORA management and staff. The MOU also required the agency to maximize telework opportunities, including recurring telework. Despite these contractual requirements, ORA employees are still being denied recurring telework opportunities. Several chapters have filed local grievances, and NTEU is considering filing a national grievance against ORA for violations of the MOU on program alignment, as well as, the CBA.

Last week, NTEU filed an information request with ORA regarding its telework practices in order to determine whether a national grievance is warranted. In the request, NTEU asked for documents and information including:

  1. a copy of each ORA quarterly communication issued to staff and management since the effective date of the MOU that promotes and encourages telework;
  2. the number of requests for recurring telework that have been denied since the effective date of the MOU; and
  3. the number of employees in each district/division who have an approved agreement for recurring telework.

NTEU believes that the evidence will show that the agency has not taken steps to promote and encourage telework as required by the MOU, and continues to baselessly deny requests for recurring telework.

If you have any questions or comments regarding this matter, please contact your chapter president.

Author: chapterpresident

I have worked in the FDA since 1990 in a variety of positions. I currently serve as chapter president of NTEU Chapter 254, representing FDA employees in Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah.