Update on Government Funding

Congress and the administration have until midnight tomorrow to fund the government.

A dark contrast photo of the US Capitol against cloudy gray skies.At this time, Congress and the White House do not have a deal to fund federal agencies past midnight tomorrow. House Republican leadership has now put forward a Continuing Resolution (CR) that would fund federal agencies at current levels through January 19, 2018. The measure would also provide short-term funding and extensions for certain health care programs (Children’s Health Insurance Program, community health centers, veterans), the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act, emergency funding for two defense initiatives, and would delay sequestration for overall defense and nondefense spending, which, if not included, would require cuts to federal programs and agencies as of January 15, 2018 (spending caps under the Budget Control Act). However, it is unclear if the House and Senate have the votes to pass this funding measure.

Legislation championed by NTEU to ensure that federal employees are paid in the event of a government shutdown has been introduced in the House — H.R. 4694 — by Virginia Representatives Beyer (VA-8-D) and Wittman (VA-1-R), and will be introduced today in the Senate by Senator Cardin (D-MD). NTEU worked closely with these offices and the many others who have cosponsored this important legislation for federal employees and our families.

It is unbelievable that we are just one day out from a possible government shutdown. NTEU continues to urge elected officials to act to keep agencies open and federal employees paid and on the job.

I will keep you updated on further developments.  For more information and to contact your legislators on this issue, please visit the NTEU Legislative Action Center.

Author: chapterpresident

I have worked in the FDA since 1990 in a variety of positions. I currently serve as chapter president of NTEU Chapter 254, representing FDA employees in Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah.