Update on Government Funding

Congress and the Administration have until midnight Friday, December 22, to fund the Government.

A dark contrast photo of the US Capitol against cloudy gray skies.As funding for the Federal Government is set to expire Friday night, December 22, Congress and the Administration appear to be no closer to reaching a spending agreement than they did before the weekend. Last week, House Republican leadership released a planned funding measure (H.J. Res. 124; the so-called ‘CRomnibus’) which would fund the Department of Defense for the rest of Fiscal Year 2018 at a level higher than what current law allows (the Budget Control Act) while keeping all other federal agencies on a short-term spending plan at current funding levels that runs through January 19, 2018. However, Senate Republicans and Democrats quickly rejected the measure, as not having the necessary votes to clear the Senate, and congressional Democrats once again called for parity in raising overall defense and non-defense spending levels. Moreover, there continues to be disagreement over whether to add to the spending measure a third disaster relief bill or address certain health care and immigration issues.

Congress is planning to vote on the tax reform bill as early as Tuesday and it is expected that legislators will focus their attention on the end of the year spending deal once the tax bill has been dispensed with.

I will keep you updated on Congress’ and the Administration’s efforts to fully fund the federal government past December 22. NTEU is urging Congress and the President to avert a shutdown, and to act so that federal employees are paid on time. NTEU strongly supports legislation that requires all federal employees to receive back pay in the event there is a shutdown.

For more information, and to see what you can do, please visit the NTEU Legislative Action Center.

Author: chapterpresident

I have worked in the FDA since 1990 in a variety of positions. I currently serve as chapter president of NTEU Chapter 254, representing FDA employees in Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah.