Government Funding Update

Action is needed by Friday, December 8th to provide continued government funding for the remainder of FY 2018, and to avoid a shutdown.

A dark contrast photo of the US Capitol against cloudy gray skies.As of today, none of the FY 2018 appropriations bills have been enacted. Action is also needed to address the nation’s debt limit (it has been suspended temporarily under the CR), as well as for the overall statutory spending caps for FY 2018, otherwise sequestration would be triggered in January causing immediate across-the-board spending cuts.

House Republican leaders are discussing the possibility of a CR that would keep agencies open through Friday, December 22. Under this scenario, Congress and the White House would need to act on a second funding measure by the 22nd to avert a shutdown, with House Republican leadership currently envisioning a second CR into January. However, some House Republican members are voicing concerns with a December 22 CR date, as well as with a plan that calls for a two-step process. It is not yet known whether House Democrats would support such measures, or what Senate leaders are considering. Various immigration and health care policy issues remain as sticking points, and could impact support for funding as we mark one week out from a potential shutdown.

NTEU is calling for federal employees to remain on the job and to be paid on time. We strongly support Senator Cardin’s (D-MD) bill, S. 861, that requires all federal employees to receive back pay in the event there is a shutdown. The bill also provides for the availability of leave for those still on the job. We expect a similar House bill to be re-introduced shortly.

For more information, and to see what you can do, visit the NTEU Legislative Action Center.

I will keep you updated on further developments.

Author: chapterpresident

I have worked in the FDA since 1990 in a variety of positions. I currently serve as chapter president of NTEU Chapter 254, representing FDA employees in Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah.