Congressional Letters in Opposition to Federal Employee Take-Home Pay and Retirement Cut Proposals

Sharing two letters sent to congressional leaders outlining concerns on proposals to gut federal employee take-home pay and retirement benefits.

U.S. CapitolA group of 18 Senators, led by Senator Mark Warner (D-VA,) have written Majority Leader McConnell and Minority Leader Schumer to express their opposition to the proposals targeting federal employee take-home pay and retirement in the administration’s Fiscal Year 2018 budget to Congress.

Separately, a group of ten House members have written Representative Trey Gowdy (R-SC), the incoming Chairman of the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee, citing their objections to legislative changes to federal employee retirement benefits. Their letter follows the House Budget Committee’s action on a budget that would require cutting by at least—if not more—$32 billion from federal employee benefits. It is important to note that how exactly retirement benefits could be cut, and when, would be at the discretion of the House Oversight Committee. As of today, the full House of Representatives has not considered or voted on this budget, but future action is possible.

This is NTEU CountryNTEU will continue its work with our allies on Capitol Hill to block changes to federal employee retirement. As we near the upcoming deadlines to fund agencies as of October 1st and to avoid a default (the nation’s debt limit is expected to be reached at the end of September with the extraordinary measures in place by Treasury since mid-March set to be exhausted), major decisions involving spending await action by Congress and the administration that will involve the possibility of needed funding cuts that could threaten federal employees.

To see what you can do, please visit the NTEU Legislative Action Center.

Author: chapterpresident

I have worked in the FDA since 1990 in a variety of positions. I currently serve as chapter president of NTEU Chapter 254, representing FDA employees in Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah.